

Standards Committee

Minutes - 14 March 2018

Attendance

Members of the Standards Committee

Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Anwen Muston Cllr Martin Waite Cllr Andrew Wynne

Employees

Colin Parr Head of Governance

Jaswinder Kaur Democratic Services Manager

Part 1 – items open to the press and public

Item No. Title

1 Appointment of Chair

Colin Parr, Head of Governance, invited nominations for the appointment of a Chair for the Standards Committee.

Councillor Anwen Muston proposed and Councillor Jasbir Jaspal seconded that Councillor Martin Waite be appointed to Chair Standards Committee.

Resolved:

That Councillor Martin Waite be appointed to Chair Standards Committee.

2 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor John Rowley and Ray Tomkinson.

3 Declarations of interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

4 Minutes of previous meeting

Resolved:

That the minutes of the previous meeting held on the 16 February 2018 be agreed as a correct record.

5 **Matters arising**

There were no matters arising from the previous minutes.

6 Freedom of the City

The Chair, Councillor Martin Waite, presented the report on Freedom of the City. The Committee were requested to consider bestowing the honour of Freedom of the City to Steve Bull MBE and Beverley Knight MBE in recognition of their eminent services to the City of Wolverhampton and public relations.

Councillor Anwen Muston proposed and Councillor Andrew Wynne seconded the recommendations.

Resolved:

That Council be recommended to:

- Convene an extraordinary meeting to bestow the honour of Freedom of the City to Steve Bull MBE and Beverley Knight MBE in recognition of their eminent services to the City of Wolverhampton and public relations;
- 2. Arrangements be made in due course to celebrate the honour.